Tag Archives: confession

POUR GRANDIR, LA CONNAISSANCE DE SOI

Pour les jeunes, les sacrements étaient des instruments pour grandir, comme homme et comme chrétien. Ici, Eugène souligne l’importance du sacrement de réconciliation. Dans sa première règle de vie pour les jeunes, en 1813, il leur avait demandé de recevoir … Continue reading

Posted in RÈGLE | Tagged , | 1 Comment

UNE EXPÉRIENCE DIRECTE

Alors que nous continuons à explorer l’esprit et le ministère de Saint Eugène, en lien avec sa congrégation de jeunes, il est utile de garder à l’esprit qu’il opérait avec les jeunes avec une approche similaire à celle que les … Continue reading

Posted in RÈGLE | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

L’IMPORTANCE DE LA CROIX DE MISSION

De fondateur à fondateur, Eugène poursuit ses réflexions à Forbin Janson concernant quelques aspects de la prédication des missions. Il parle ici du rôle important du crucifix durant les missions. Tout comme les Rédemptoristes, les Missionnaires de France ne l’utilisaient … Continue reading

Posted in LETTRES | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

DES EFFORTS SURHUMAINS POUR ENTENDRE LES CONFESSIONS DE CHACUN DANS LE VILLAGE

Les besoins des villageois étaient grands et les Pères Tempier et Mie ne rentrèrent pas à Aix après la mission de Fuveau, mais ils y demeurèrent un autre dix jours afin de remplir leur promesse faite aux habitants de Gréasque … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS, LETTRES | Tagged , | 1 Comment

LA CONVERSION MAINTENUE PAR LE FRÉQUENT USAGE DU SACREMENT DE LA RÉCONCILIATION

Le périple de conversion du Président de Mazenod le conduisit au sacrement de la confession. Eugène l’invite maintenant à recourir à ce sacrement sur une base régulière pour maintenir la force et le mouvement de sa conversion. Son idée de … Continue reading

Posted in LETTRES | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

LA COMMUNAUTÉ DOIT ÊTRE UNIE AVEC CEUX QUI SONT EN MISSION AU DEHORS

« C’est dans la communauté à laquelle nous appartenons et par elle, que nous accomplissons notre mission. » (Règle de vie oblate. Constitution 37) Tandis qu’une partie de la communauté était en train d’évangéliser au-dehors, l’autre partie soutenait la mission … Continue reading

Posted in LETTRES | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

LES MISSIONS PAROISSIALES : LES CONFESSIONS – J’AI RASSURÉ CE BRAVE HOMME ET JE L’AI RENVOYÉ HEUREUX

Quarante ans plus tard, Eugène raconte un incident survenu durant la Mission de Grans, qui donne une indication du genre d’approche que les missionnaires pratiquaient vis-à-vis des gens : Un homme que j’avais confessé, et qui, comme les autres, avait … Continue reading

Posted in JOURNAL | Tagged , | 1 Comment

LES MISSIONS PAROISSIALES: EUGÈNE RAPPELLE QUELQUES-UNS DES FRUITS DE LEUR PREMIÈRE MISSION

En se souvenant, quelque quarante ans plus tard, Eugène rappelle la première mission prêchée à Grans : S’il me fallait, pour ne pas laisser de lacunes, écrire ici la relation de cette première mission donnée à Grans, je craindrais d’en … Continue reading

Posted in JOURNAL | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

LES MISSIONS PAROISSIALES : SUCCÈS DU MINISTÈRE DE LA CONFESSION PARCE QU’IL ÉTAIT FAIT SOUS LE SIGNE DE LA CROIX

C’est toujours le Christ Sauveur qui était le point de la visée d’Eugène et des missionnaires, comme cela était souligné par l’usage du crucifix oblat durant la confession, alors qu’on le plaçait dans les mains du pénitent. Dans le tribunal, … Continue reading

Posted in LETTRES | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

LES MISSIONS PAROISSIALES : SUCCÈS DU MINISTÈRE DE LA CONFESSION PARCE QUE LES PRÊTRES ÉTAIENT CONVAINCUS DE LA MISÉRICORDE DE DIEU

Peut-être que la plus grande raison du succès de leur ministère des confessions leur vint du fait qu’ils s’en tenaient à la théologie morale de Saint Alphonse de Liguori, qui était fondée sur la miséricorde aimante et guérissante de Dieu. … Continue reading

Posted in LETTRES | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Tag Archives: confession

FROM WORD TO ACTION

The next section of the Rule of 1818 moves to the logical conclusion of preaching: helping the listener to come to a personal encounter with God as Savior. Preaching should make people aware of their need for conversion, best expressed … Continue reading

Posted in RULE | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

SELF-KNOWLEDGE FOR GROWTH

For the youth, the sacraments were to be instruments of human and Christian growth. Here Eugene stresses the importance of the sacrament of reconciliation. In his first rule of life for the youth, in 1813, he asked that they receive … Continue reading

Posted in RULE | Tagged , | Leave a comment

DIRECT EXPERIENCE

As we continue to explore the spirit and ministry of Saint Eugene with regard to his Youth Congregation, it is useful to keep in mind that his approach to the youth was the same as that operated in the preaching … Continue reading

Posted in RULE | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

THE IMPORTANCE OF THE MISSION CRUCIFIX

Founder-to-founder, Eugene continues his reflections to Forbin-Janson on some aspects of preaching missions. Here he speaks about the important role of the crucifix during missions. Like the Redemptorists, the Missionaries of France used it only when preaching missions. For the … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

SUPER-HUMAN EFFORTS TO HEAR THE CONFESSIONS OF EVERYONE IN THE VILLAGE

The need of the villagers was great and Fathers Tempier and Mie did not return to Aix after the mission in Fuveau, but stayed an extra ten days to fulfill their promise to the inhabitants of Gréasque and St-Savournin. These … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , | Leave a comment

CONVERSION MAINTAINED BY FREQUENT USE OF THE SACRAMENT OF RECONCILIATION

President de Mazenod’s conversion journey led him to the sacrament of confession. Eugene now invites him to use this sacrament on a regular basis to maintain the force and movement of his conversion. His idea of the sacrament is not … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , | Leave a comment

THE COMMUNITY NEEDS TO BE UNITED WITH THOSE OUT ON MISSION

“We fulfill our mission in and through the community to which we belong” (Oblate Rule of Life, Constitution 37). While one part of the community was out evangelizing, the other part was supporting the mission through prayer and unity of … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

PARISH MISSIONS: CONFESSIONS – I REASSURED THIS GOOD MAN AND SENT HIM AWAY HAPPY

Forty one years later Eugene recounts an incident during the mission in Grans that gives an indication of the approach of the missionaries to people: A man who had been to me to confession and who, like all the others, … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY | Tagged , | Leave a comment

PARISH MISSIONS: EUGENE REMEMBERS SOME OF THE FRUITS OF THEIR FIRST MISSION

Reminiscing, some forty years later, Eugene recalls the first mission preached in Grans: If, in order not to leave anything out, I had to write an account of that first mission given in Grans I fear that I would diminish … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

PARISH MISSIONS: SUCCESS OF THE CONFESSION MINISTRY BECAUSE IT WAS DONE UNDER THE SIGN OF THE CROSS

It was always Christ the Saviour who was the focal point for Eugene and the missionaries, as was underlined by their use of their Oblate crucifix in confession that they placed in the hands of the penitent. It is useful … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , , | Leave a comment