Monthly Archives: November 2013

NOUS PRIONS VOTRE SAINTETÉ DE NOUS DONNER LE NOM D’OBLATS DE MARIE IMMACULÉE

Ayant décidé de changer le nom de notre Congrégation, Eugène demanda alors au Pape de nous donner officiellement ce nom. Lorsque cette demande fut éventuellement exaucée, Eugène fut en mesure de proclamer partout que c’était là le nom « que … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

CONSOLIDEZ À JAMAIS UNE ŒUVRE SI IMPORTANTE

Après avoir présenté au Pape une image de ce qui avait été accompli par les Oblats durant les premiers dix ans de leur existence, Eugène souligna l’importance de notre Règle de Vie. Les évêques locaux du Sud de la France … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged , | 1 Comment

UNE SEULE CHOSE MANQUE

Les Missionnaires Oblats de saint Charles ainsi constitués se trouvent avoir en ce moment quatre maisons et un hospice. Ils font le service de six vastes diocèses. Ils sont chargés des hôpitaux d’Aix, des prisons de Marseille, des prisons d’Aix, … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

L’ENCOURAGEMENT REÇU DE L’ÉGLISE

La Règle de Vie des Oblats a été encouragée et approuvée par tous les Évêques des endroits où les Oblats avaient travaillé. Le pape Pie VII accorda d’amples indulgences à la Société des Missionnaires, et les évêques ne cessèrent d’encourager … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged , | 1 Comment

DIRE AU PAPE QUI SONT, POUR LES OBLATS, LES PLUS ABANDONNÉS

Nous continuons à examiner la pétition qu’Eugène écrivit pour la présenter au Pape. Dans l’extrait que je vous offre aujourd’hui, il présente une image du ministère des Oblats, vieux de dix ans. Ils s’adonnèrent principalement aux missions, ce qui est … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

ILS FURENT EUX-MÊMES ÉTONNÉS PAR LES MERVEILLES QUE LA GRÂCE OPÉRAIT PAR LEUR MINISTÈRE

Parce que Dieu avait tant fait pour eux et pour les pauvres, par le biais de leur ministère, les Oblats voulaient être généreux par leur réponse. En suivant l’exemple des saints, ils voulaient que leur engagement missionnaire envers Dieu soit … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged , | 1 Comment

LES BÉNÉDICTIONS EXTRAORDINAIRES QUE DIEU A FAIT PLEUVOIR SUR LEURS EFFORTS MISSIONNAIRES

Eugène poursuit sa pétition au Pape en lui expliquant l’origine des Oblats. Le succès du ministère qu’ils accomplissaient vis-à-vis des gens abandonnés à Aix-en-Provence souleva l’intérêt des évêques dans les contrées environnantes. Afin de répondre à ces requêtes, il était … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged | 1 Comment

C’EST L’ÉGLISE QUI APPELLE ET MÈNE À LA VIE

Eugène était venu à Rome spécifiquement pour demander au Pape une reconnaissance officielle et l’approbation de la Congrégation des Oblats. Il avait apporté avec lui, à Rome, tous les documents requis à cet effet. À présent, en préparation de cette … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

OBLATS DE LA TRÈS SAINTE ET IMMACULÉE VIERGE MARIE

Je me suis occupé dans la journée de dresser la supplique, pour présenter au pape le jour qu’il me donnera audience. Journal romain, 8 décembre 1825, EO XVII Ce jour était celui de la fête de l’Immaculée Conception et ce … Continue reading

Posted in ÉCRITS, JOURNAL | Tagged , | 1 Comment

UNE INSPIRATION QUI PASSA DE SON CŒUR JUSQUE DANS SA TÊTE

Le passage suivant du Journal romain d’Eugène n’a, apparemment, aucune importance: J’ai fini la journée par la visite à l’église des Saints-Apôtres, pour le dernier jour de la neuvaine de l’Immaculée Conception. C’est ordinairement le pape qui donne la bénédiction. … Continue reading

Posted in JOURNAL | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Monthly Archives: November 2013

I HAD THE POPE BLESS MY CRUCIFIX AND ASKED HIM FOR HIS APOSTOLIC BLESSING

Eugene continues the narrative of his first meeting with Pope Leo XII: When the Pope took trouble to explain at length to me the formalities which necessarily require much time, he said to me: “You will not leave so soon, … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

HE GRANTED ME EVERYTHING I REQUESTED

Pope Leo had indicated how Eugene should proceed with his request for approbation. Lest I did not retain the name of the secretary whom he designated to me, he extended his kindness to the point of looking in his desk … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY, LETTERS | Tagged , | 1 Comment

BEING DIRECT WITH THE POPE

When I had finished speaking, he took up the discourse and spoke for quite a long time himself on this same subject. One would have said that he wished to make excuses for not doing with a stroke of his … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged | 1 Comment

A MOMENT OF DIVINE INSPIRATION

When any new religious congregation comes into existence in the Church, it is necessary for the Church to study it so as to evaluate whether it is the human invention of a charismatic person or whether it comes from God. … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

YOU SHOULD HAVE SEEN WITH WHAT INTEREST THE POPE LISTENED TO THE GOOD OPERATED BY OUR MISSIONARIES.

Eugene describes the contents of his interview with Pope Leo: I handed him with respect the letter from my uncle which he placed before him on his desk. Then began our interview, which ran on several subjects, and lasted nearly … Continue reading

Posted in LETTERS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

THE POPE SHOWERED ME WITH INDESCRIBABLE KINDNESS

In his private journal, Eugene continued to jot down his impressions of the morning, as he recalled them. He cannot resist noting his amusement at the Dominican priest in the audience room whose discomfort in waiting was clear as his … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY, LETTERS | Tagged , | 1 Comment

WHOM MY FAITH SHOWED IMMEDIATELY AS THE VICAR OF JESUS CHRIST

Finally Eugene was received by Pope Leo XII, and he described the meeting to Henri Tempier – and through him to all the Oblates in France, who were anxiously awaiting news of this meeting that would affect each one. You … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY, LETTERS | Tagged , | 1 Comment

IN THE POPE’S WAITING ROOM

As soon as the audience begins, those designated to work that day with the Pope enter in succession. Neither Cardinals or Ambassadors came. Those who entered one after the other were the ones whom the Holy Father summoned through the … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY | Tagged , | 1 Comment

VATICAN BUREAUCRACY

So one fine morning I made my decision. It was the 20th, vigil of Saint Thomas, and having obtained the loan of the carriage of Mgr. the Dean, I arrived in full dress at the Vatican. The first person I … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY, LETTERS | Tagged | 1 Comment

I HAVE ARMED MYSELF WITH ALL NATURAL AND SUPERNATURAL AIDS

The time was approaching for Eugene to meet with the Pope and to ask for his formal approbation of the Oblates. He was worried because there was a “general policy in place in which the Pope was not giving approbation … Continue reading

Posted in DIARY, LETTERS | Tagged , , | 1 Comment